Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First Time on the Road Track

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2008, 09:48 AM
Adis
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default First Time on the Road Track

I've just started to get into road racing and though I'd ask some of the experienced forum members for advice. My local track has open track times irregularly, and it's just strap on your harness/helmet and go. Usually there is nobody, or very few people there, so I don't have the opportunity to ask for pointers from any of the locals. As a complete novice, I need help with all aspects of my driving, and don't want to get into bad habits early. I've included the link to a video of a few laps of my first session and a drawing of the track. I just picked the lines that felt right for the level of driving that I am comfortable with, but would certainly welcome any criticism. I feel fairly comfortable with my vehicle, or at least comfortable enough to start experimenting with my limits (but I still keep the stability control on!) I think the track is short and compact (although I have no frame of reference) the website says it's a 2.4 km F3 track designed for 180kph (108mph) top speed and it seems like a good place to learn and build confidence. For 4/5 of the track I am in 3rd (including the straights,) while going into turn 3 (sharp 180) i drop into 2nd, through turn 6 (another sharp 180 going into the back straight).