Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rear aero help with the C4

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2009, 12:44 PM
RedLS1GTO
Race Director

Received 42 Likes on 9 Posts

Default Rear aero help with the C4

As most of you know by my random questions I'm relatively new to the world of racing (on full sized tracks). I'm getting my list of things that I need/want to do to the C4 ready for the winter. The car is relatively stable at high speed under power, but during high speed braking, or even just off throttle, it gets VERY tail happy. I was wondering what you guys have seen done on C4s that could get me some rear downforce. Is the best option going to be a wing, or is a lip type of spoiler the better way to go? I'm not opposed to either at this point although from what I can tell, mounting a wing correctly isn't an easy job in the C4 and involves a lot of cutting on the rear body panels to attach it so that it is strong enough and not just some POS bolted to the tail that is going to fly off.
Old 11-11-2009, 01:22 PM
0AmericanCustomInd
Former Vendor

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

If you find that you are interested in replacing your rear bumper with a custom fiberglass bumper with a lip, take a look at our custom (part number ACG050).
This bumper also uses C5 tail lights.

This car is also outfitted with a rear wrap.

Our products have not been wind-tunnel tested, so I cannot say how much additional downforce you might gain from a modification like this.

They go for 626.84, but I can do 595.50 for forum members!

Let me know if I can help in the parts department
Old 11-11-2009, 01:47 PM
Solofast
Melting Slicks

Received 85 Likes on 71 Posts