Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What are your favorate California area tracks?

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2010, 01:22 AM
Charley Hoyt
Safety Car

Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts

Default What are your favorate California area tracks?

I am new to HPDEs and I really like them. I am curious how some of the more experienced drivers would rank the tracks in the California area...such as Big willow, Willow springs, Button willow, Autoclub speedway Roval, Autoclub inner road course, Laguna Seca, infinion, Spring mountain, etc.. Which are your most and least favorites?

Thanks,
Charley
Old 02-15-2010, 04:01 AM
bobmoore2
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Charley Hoyt
Which are your most and least favorites?

Thanks,
Charley
Least Favorite:
- Autoclub Inner road course. -- Not technical. Not challenging. No interesting/unique features. Just a really large flat ... Almost like a very large autocross.

Top four (in no particular order):
- Buttonwillow -- It has several interesting and challenging features. And it can be ran in several configurations and in both directions.
- Infineon --A very challenging track. Several of the turns have minimal runoffs, which can be very exciting. Driving it VERY fast requires lots of courage.
- Spring Mountain (the 3.1 mile course) -- Very technical and challenging. Lots of interesting features. It takes lots of skill and practice to drive it very fast.
- Streets of Willow -- Several interesting and challenging features, but it's also a great track to learn on, because the speeds are relatively low. I learned how to balance a car with the throttle (oversteer vs understeer) at this track several years ago.
Old 02-15-2010, 10:42 AM
Olitho
Le Mans Master

Received 355 Likes on 222 Posts

I like all tracks, but if I had to run just four, but not in any order: