Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Kumho Ecsta V710 vs. Nitto NT-01..opinions

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2010, 01:00 PM
CStewTAMU
Burning Brakes

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Kumho Ecsta V710 vs. Nitto NT-01..opinions

Has anyone run both? Which did you like better?

I am looking into getting some autocross tires. The Nittos seem to be significantly cheaper but the reviews I've read are overwhelmingly positive. The club president in our vette club told me to stay away from Hoosiers as they are more expensive and don't last as long (he runs kumhos after a bad experience with Hoosiers).

I am new to autocross so I am open to other brands. I am looking for the best bang for the buck.

My car is a 94, and I'm thinking of running 275s on all four corners .
Old 03-19-2010, 02:01 PM
JRL
Pro

Received 21 Likes on 17 Posts

The 710's or Hoosiers will be much quicker than the Nittos.
I used to get about 120-130 autox runs on 710's.
Hoosier A6's I would get about 90 runs, but are quicker than the 710's.

710's are best bang for the buck, Hoosier A6 the fastest tire, period.

YMMV,

John
Old 03-19-2010, 02:05 PM
Solofast
Melting Slicks

Received 85 Likes on 71 Posts

The best bang for the buck is the stickiest tires you can buy...

After you spend all of the money it costs to do this, tires aren't the biggest expense. Moreover, you hate to get out there and say "well, I got beat, but he had better tires".. You still got beat...

The Nitto isn't nearly as fast as the V710. That's a fact. The V710 isn't as fast a a Hoosier. Period. Absolute fact..

Now, if you are in a stock class, the car is a C4, so you are camber challenged, then a 710 might make sense, since they don't wear on the edges as badly as the Hoosiers. Since they aren't horribly slower, you could go 710's and not feel like a rolling chicane.