Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Just purchase my first Z - need advice on Brakes

Old 04-27-2010, 10:20 PM
TGiuliante
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fluid replacement question

Hey guys, relatively new to this thread. I crossed over from a Porsche to a 2007 Z. I have been running HPDE's for about 4 - 5 yrs now in my carrera. The Z that I just purchased has a fresh new motor built by RPM motors. A track built motor putting down approx 530 at the wheels. Car has a Bilstein LG motosports coilovers with Phadt sway bars as wel as a few other goodies - I'm pretty excited about my new toy.

What do I need to do with regards to preventative maintenance while running De's. It seems like guys flush thier brake fluid regularly - how often? What about clutch fluid? Power steering? etc..

Could you guys school the newbe.

Last edited by TGiuliante; 04-28-2010 at 07:45 AM.
Old 04-28-2010, 09:11 AM
TheKomoman
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
St Jude Donor '13

A flush to DOT4 would be a good idea. With that much HP you're gonna get to speeds that will heat up the brakes in a hurry. I don't know that there's a set schedule to follow and it will be dependent on how many you run but minimum yearly would be a good idea. Keep an eye on the fluid and if it starts to look dirty at all, give it a bleed. You'll read a lot of good about Motul fluid, I personally like ATE because you can go back & forth between amber & blue to know when you've bled to the new fluid. But really any DOT4 fluid will be an improvement over the factory DOT3. And since your car is an '07 I'd recommend getting to that before you head to the track.