Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Renting Hallett, Vettes vs. BMWs

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2010, 01:36 PM
godzilladude
Pro

Received 114 Likes on 51 Posts

Default Renting Hallett, Vettes vs. BMWs

For no especial reason, me and some buddies decided to rent out Hallett midweek. Five of us, total cost around $300 per. Two Vettes (my LS3 and an LS2), and three BMWs (older M3, new 545, new M5), all street cars on street tires. Three of us with more track experience (though certainly not a lot), one guy on maybe his fourth track day, one complete newbie (the other Vette). None of us had been on Hallett before.

We started the day going over the white board of the track, guessing at some lines, then got cars and drivers ready and started out. After 3-4 laps started picking up the pace a lot. After 20 minutes, everyone back in, compare notes, mark up the white board some more, hit it again. An hour break at lunch, and we finally all gave up around 3PM. We could have gone till five. We got in a LOT of laps for the money, way more than I would have gotten on a weekend HPDE for similar money. And that is a NASTY track! I actually got a little scared of a couple spots, and I generally am pretty calm on track. "Don't brake till you see God." Yep, a couple of those moments. I would have liked to have someone who really knows the track go around with us a couple times, show us a line or two, see if we're as bright as we like to think. I managed to only go off track once, being stupid (lifting suddenly while going through a turn), but no harm.