Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C7 GS manual for HPDE

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2024, 07:14 PM
mikeCsix
Melting Slicks
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 194 Likes on 166 Posts

Default C7 GS manual for HPDE

I currently have a C6 A6 set up for HPDE and as much as I like this car, I have grown tired of dealing with cooling issues. Yep, I already know the A-6 is going to be a handicap, I addressed that with a GSpeed upgrade and it is no longer a problem. The differential though has potential of being another problem that requires a solution. This car is in fabulous condition and I do not want to cut it up for yet another cooler.

I'm currently thinking of going with a C-7 Grand Sport, manual transmission this time. Can anyone tell me if there are cooling issues still remaining with the C7 GS? I'm an intermediate driver, not looking to set track records, Primarily street tires no stronger than 888's.

My C6 has upgraded stabilzer bars from AFE, I found they suit my current driving style pretty well whereas the OEM bars seemed to help cause oversteer. Does the C7 have the same issues as the C6?

Thanks in advance!
Old 04-22-2024, 09:32 PM
PeteC7
Pro

Received 214 Likes on 157 Posts

I've beaten on mine for 7 years in Texas. I run a coolshirt system to keep me cool in the summer but the car has never cared.

As far as understeer, get some 18" wheels and go 1" wider in the front, that really balances things out nicely imho.
Old 04-23-2024, 11:05 AM
mikeCsix
Melting Slicks
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 194 Likes on 166 Posts

Originally Posted by PeteC7
I've beaten on mine for 7 years in Texas. I run a coolshirt system to keep me cool in the summer but the car has never cared.

As far as understeer, get some 18" wheels and go 1" wider in the front, that really balances things out nicely imho.