Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hawk DTC-70 vs Carbotech XP12

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2011, 02:12 AM
sperkins
Le Mans Master

Received 44 Likes on 35 Posts

Default Hawk DTC-70 vs Carbotech XP12

I've been using Carbotech XP12 front and XP10 rear for a couple of years now with good results, but am fed up with how fast they wear.
Carbotechs excuse for their fast wear rate is that they're easy on rotors. I can understand that since something has to give, but a stock C5 front rotor costs me under 40 bucks so it doesn't make sense to me to burn through $250 pads to protect a $40 rotor.

I've heard many complaints that Hawk pads pop stock rotors like crazy. I can live with that since I'm already changing rotors at the track on a regular basis, but I'm in the market for a set of 2pc or full floating rotors soon so hopefully that will help.

So my questions are for stock C5 calipers:
1. Run DTC-70's on all four corners or 70 front and 60 rear?
2. Does the 70 have similar characteristics to the XP12?
3. Anyone running 70's with 2pc or full floating rotors that can give feedback on cracking rotors?

Thanks.

Oh yeah, Hawk offers a NASA contingency.
Carbotech....
Old 05-27-2011, 09:02 AM
SouthernSon
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,103 Likes on 717 Posts

I am there ATTM. I have the AP T1 2 pc. rotors with 70's/60's. Really, just have one full weekend on them and the front rotors show some small crazing on surface. I will have to see how this progresses later in the summer. Hopefully it will not go much further. I'll let you know. My immediate problem seems to be rear rotors cracking too often. I run with all TC controls off but it doesn't seem to help the rears. I wonder if anyone supplies a stainless steel piston for OEM C5 rears? I need to refurbish both.
Old 05-27-2011, 09:13 AM
95jersey