Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Think I trashed my C5 Brake Calipers at the track

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2012, 03:03 PM
kedvesh
Burning Brakes

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post

Default Think I trashed my C5 Brake Calipers at the track

BLUF: Rebuild my calipers or not?

DISCUSSION:

HPDEs and track days are a great hobby. I am a race crew and driver of one who drives to and from the track with my tools and tires in tow. I’ve never done more than 5 weekends a year of HPDE or track day time. Two to three weekends a year is more normal and is what I usually plan for. It seems that of the tracks I've driven (incl., VIR, Road Atlanta, Barber, Summit Point), the hardest ones on my car have been Sebring and Road America.

I recently returned from another very fun weekend at Road America...played around with some ACR Vipers and the like...pretty good weather…could hang with the normal Viper crowd on the track, but not with those race-prep’d ACR types.

Unfortunately, I let my front brake pads (Carbotech XP12s) get too thin and as a result, ended up putting way too much heat into both of the front stock-style C5Z06 calipers, so much so that I turned the piston dust boots to ash—I didn’t melt them off, I burned them off of both calipers. Even the lower end of the middle outside tab of one of the calipers turned from red to ash white. Looks like the rubber boots around the caliper pins were also affected. Plus, the right caliper was leaking fluid from somewhere. I think I may have killed my calipers.