Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Welders, give me some advice on my welds (pics)

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2012, 08:32 PM
rithsleeper
Drifting

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Default Welders, give me some advice on my welds (pics)

I am building two 10' trailer ramps for my '89 vette, and 79 rx7 race car cause my current setup is embarrassing... I figured I'd keep posting here since some of you have been helping me with trailer advice. I've got all my metal and going to put it all together tomorrow. I'm still new to welding and don't really have a fear of them "failing" but it never hurts to get advice on if everything looks ok or how to make them better.

My design is simple, 3x, 1.5" x 10' square tubing (1/4 wall) with caps on ends, and 3 additional cross tubes. Then I will run expanded metal on top (1/4).

I'm using a Lincoln Electric 140 with 25%/75% Argon/CO2 mix. I have the heat set to max (E) and the feed speed low at 3...

Pic 1: These are some of my nicer looking welds but I think I went too fast because the bead is rounded instead of flat.

Pic 2: Although this isn't as pretty, I think it is more sucessful in penetrating both pieces...

Pic 3: This weld is where I had to bridge about a 1/8 inch gap, I think it looks ok

Pic 4: And here is inside of the tube, I can see the heat marking that tells me I have penetrated the metal enough...

In addition, I know I should take a welding class at a tech college and plan to this summer, If you see any huge design flaws please point them out but really I've bought and cut all the metal so it ain't changing unless there is a huge problem. I also realize these things will weigh a butt load but I have a solution to it so don't worry.
Old 11-02-2012, 08:45 PM
0Fred@ReverseLogic
Former Vendor

Received 53 Likes on 45 Posts