Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stock LS6 for street/HPDE - thoughts on pushrods?

Old 03-29-2013, 12:47 PM
Fulton 1
Racer

Received 42 Likes on 31 Posts

Default Stock LS6 for street/HPDE - thoughts on pushrods?

I just picked up a 2002 C5Z with 23k miles on it. The car is in great condition and bone stock. It will not be a daily driver, but it will be street driven and between the wife and I it will probably see 3-4 track days per year. It will also be driven to our local track, which is about 150-mile round trip. Needless to say, reliability is my prime concern.

This is my first LS6 and I'm a beginner as far as track days are concerned. I will be on street tires and (mostly) stock suspension - no coilovers, R-compounds, or dry sumps - at this time. The goal is simply to learn and have fun.

I'm planning to do some "peace-of-mind" type upgrades to the engine itself to try and address known weak points and hopefully add a degree of reliability for the track days. To this end I've purchased a C5R timing chain and damper, ported oil pump, and belt tensioner from Katech and I've got a set of new GM valve springs and seals sitting here ready to go in. While the rockers are out I will also be doing the Comp rocker arm trunion upgrade.