Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Square tire set up vs staggered

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2014, 08:24 PM
emptnest
Burning Brakes

Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts

Default Square tire set up vs staggered

I am prepping my newly acquired 1993 C4 for HPDE tracking. Being a newbie, I will take the advice of experienced track drivers, and initially run on street tires; then as my skills grow, I will move up to stickier tires.

So for now, I am running a square 275/40 x 17 set up, on 9.5 saw blades. In preparation for eventually running separate track tires, I have two extra sets of wheels. One set is another set of 9.5 x 17 saw blades; the other is a staggered set of 9.5 and 11 x 17 A molds.

I expect to run primarily on either the PIR track in Pittsburgh, and at Summit Point. I may occasionally visit VIR.

So the question is this:for the track should I run a square set up, or staggered?

obviously a staggered set up denies tire rotation. So over the course of two tire sets, and assuming fronts wear at twice the rate of rears, I will replace two fronts at the end of cycle 1, then all 4 tires at the end of cycle 2. Total 6 tires over 2 cycles. A cycle being whatever time it takes for the fronts to wear their corners to an unacceptable degree.

But if I run square, I will only rotate front to rear, and not have to buy tires at the end of cycle 1. Then at the end of cycle 2, I will replace all 4 tires. Total 4 tires over 2 cycles.

Is that the conventional wisdom? Or is the assumption of less rear wear incorrect?

Two more questions:

Is there a performance advantage to running larger rears?

Does anyone running a staggered set up rotate side to side for extended life on fronts? Or is that ill advised ( as discouraged for regular street tires).

Looking forward to your thoughts.
Old 06-17-2014, 08:33 PM