Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HPDE Tech Question

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2016, 11:06 AM
RaleighSS
Drifting

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default HPDE Tech Question

I have been instructing in my C5 Z06 for about 7 years now .... My daughter is now interested in doing a hyperdrive or a HPDE 1 session but i have been hesitant to get her started in the Z as it runs R6 tires ect. She drives an Audi TT roadster .... I sent an email to the regional tech guy as well as posted on the NASA forum if this would pass NASA tech but have not had a reply. The TT roadster has built in factory hoops behind the seats similar to a boxter .... TrackDaze said they would allow it through their tech but was hoping to get her in a NASA event / hyperdrive. So reaching out this community and see if you have any info on a TT Roadster passing tech at NASA
Old 05-29-2016, 11:23 AM
Bill32
Melting Slicks

Received 69 Likes on 59 Posts

I can only reply for SCCA but as long as they are not pop up hoops, they would pass in my tech line for Performance Driving Experience (HPDE).

Bill (SCCA Chief of Tech)
Old 05-29-2016, 11:36 AM
Kamran
Pro

Received 85 Likes on 65 Posts

On another topic, if tracking a TT (or Audi), first thing you might consider, replace the water pump with after market. TT's plastic impellers are well known for braking up and seizing the engine. Been there, done that and got mad because my "race shop owner/mechanic" knew all about it and didn't warn me. Audi didn't lift a finger to help. Their replacement pump was exactly the same part with the same cheap plastic impeller. I replaced mine with an aftermarket alloy impeller one. When the engine went south a second time, I dumped the car to a whole seller for way below wholesale. Personally, imho I would never track an Audi.