Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

More C6 Heat Issues

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2016, 02:01 PM
RobbyZ
Instructor

Received 17 Likes on 11 Posts

Default More C6 Heat Issues

Hi All, I have a 2009 Z51, Dewits radiator with water wetter and ZO6 oil cooler. I am running into oil and water temp issues. I am pretty stock with LG Long tubes, Airade intake (took out my Vararam for better air flow to the radiator), and a tune. I also pulled the weather stipping at the back of the hood to let some of the hot air out. My temps have come down a little bit since I have done the mods, but my temps are still way too high. Sometimes I can't even get through a 20 minutes session before I need to take it off the track. My Oil temp gets up to 290 on a hot day within 15 minutes and my water gets up to 235-240.

I'm not very experienced as I have only done about 6 track events the last 14 months and I'm not mechanically gifted. I have been reading up on a few issues, but I am looking for some more guidance.

1. My fan relay and/or fan cooling module just went out yesterday. I got a check engine light and took it to the dealer. They said my issue was the cooling fan relay or module. The dealer couldn't confirm which one of the two was causing the code. Is the "relay" just the 60 amp fuse? I changed out the 60 amp fuse which didn't look like it was blown, but for a couple bucks i started there. The fan still is not coming on while at high temps and while idle and slow speeds.

Should I replace the fan module with an OEM replacement or is there a better aftermarket setup? I see there is a "fan controller", "fan module", and a "relay". I don't know all the components and where they are all located. What should I consider replacing/ upgrading?