Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How do I.....Get Started?

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2016, 05:05 PM
yarberrymt
Instructor

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default How do I.....Get Started?

All,

I'm ready to participate in some HPDE, Roadcourse, Auto-X types of events. Problem is....I have no idea where to start and the entry process seems overwhelming!
  • What do I need? (Helmet?)
  • What kinds of memberships and licenses?
  • How do I identify the local events/organizers?
  • What do you suggest for my situation?

I have an 03 Z06 with LG G2 Coilovers and 18x10.5's all around, stock otherwise. I'm familiar with the bare-bones track-time pre-requisites (rubber, pads, cooling, alignment), but would like advice on the questions above. I'm a total novice driver. Located in Houston, TX.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Last edited by yarberrymt; 10-28-2016 at 05:25 PM.
Old 10-28-2016, 05:19 PM
jaa1992
Le Mans Master

Location: Life is just one big track event. Everything before and after is prep and warm-up and cool-down laps GA
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Cruise-In III Veteran
Cruise-In IV Veteran
St. Jude Donor '12

First question - where the heck are you?
North east, mid-atlantic, southeast, etc?

Helmet - yes, get one that fits snugly on your head and has a current SA rating (SA2010 will be ok for a few years, SA2015 will be good for about 10 years)

Membership - it will depend on what organizations run events near you.
As an example the Carolina Region Mustang club has an event in early October each year at Carolina Motorsports park. All you need is to pay the registration fee and show up. Shoot they even have loaner helmets.

Chin, NASA and others require you to purchase a yearly membership.

Tell us where you live and we can give you tons of suggestions on groups in your area