Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

5 point harness with no roll cage

Old 01-02-2017, 09:23 PM
Bossdog
Racer

Received 73 Likes on 54 Posts
Default 5 point harness with no roll cage

I'll start by putting on my flame suite, a lot of different angles to get flamed on this one.

First, its had significant discussion, second, it a set of personal trade-offs each person must make. Last, there is not much definitive test data so its mostly opinion.

I've read all the blogs, forums and articles I could find on this, BMW, Porsche and Corvette.

That being said, I'm new to Corvettes, 2017 will be by first season in a Vette , 5th season in total on the HPDE circuit. I participate in about 3 events per season in the intermediate group, mostly at tracks like Mid Ohio, Watkins Glen and NCM. I'm not sure it makes in difference in answering my question but I have an 01' Z, with improved breathing, coilovers and NT01's.

I am considering adding the BK harness bar and Hans device with the Corbeau A4 seats.

Can anyone elaborate on what is gained with the harness/hans in a frontal impact event ( or other off-track excursion) over the OEM 3-point and air bag. All the Hans Slow-mo video comparisons are without air bag to amplify the Hans restraint effect.

I've been wrecked into on track driving my stock 2012 Boss, a high speed impact, so I don't take on-track safety lightly.

Thank you for your thoughtful and courteous input
Old 01-02-2017, 09:43 PM
RHEACERDAVE
Advanced

Received 14 Likes on 9 Posts

I've been a SCCA Safety Steward since 1987 and competed since '93. Go at least legal rollbar or stay stock IMHO.

Last edited by RHEACERDAVE; 01-02-2017 at 09:44 PM.
The following users liked this post:
mr.beachcomber (01-06-2017)
Old 01-02-2017, 10:26 PM
danh52
Racer

Received 64 Likes on 56 Posts