Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C7 Z06 track reliability vs. your other track car

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2017, 03:22 AM
SBC_and_a_stick
Safety Car

Received 551 Likes on 311 Posts

Default C7 Z06 track reliability vs. your other track car

I've been tracking the C7 Z06 for 27 months now, it has been quite...eventful.

For those of you that have tracked this car and something else, how does the C7 Z06 compare? If not comfortable giving specifics just compare them subjectively.

I tracked an S2000 before this and it was bulletproof by comparison. 0 faults. The Z has lots of bugs, things breaking, melting, engine codes, etc. I'm not sure if its' comparable given the Honda is an entry level spots car. Perhaps some of you track Vipers or GT3s which would be more on the same pace.

I'm trying to get a bit of perspective from other people's experiences.
The following users liked this post:
CanadianVetster (04-16-2017)
Old 03-09-2017, 11:38 AM
Quickshift_C5
Melting Slicks

Received 141 Likes on 120 Posts

Could I talk you into a brief list of the complications in tracking your C7Z? Just curious.
Old 03-09-2017, 01:55 PM
SBC_and_a_stick
Safety Car

Originally Posted by Quickshift_C5
Could I talk you into a brief list of the complications in tracking your C7Z? Just curious.
1. fuse burning taking out O2 and other sensors offline causing 12 engine codes. Determined that a wire harness was touching the exhaust and melted causing the fuse to burn. GM replaced harness.
2. check engine light occurring during low grip situations. GM updated the software with regards to vehicle speed sensor.
3. check engine light occuring on and off, and service stabilitrack light. Spark plug wire burned out taking out a cylinder offline.