Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C5 Wheel Hop - HPDE

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2018, 04:26 PM
emptnest
Burning Brakes

Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts

Default C5 Wheel Hop - HPDE

I am an advanced driver in HPDE, with this being my first season driving a new (to me) 1999 FRC. I previously drove a stock Z07 C4. The FRC has stock rotors and calipers, SS caliper pistons, Raybestos ST 43 pads, SS brake lines, DRM brake ducts, and ECS spindle ducts. The suspension is stock Z51, with 66,000 miles, riding on 315 x 17 NT01’s all around. The rubber bushings look good, but the stock endlinks are kinda chewed up (torn boots) and slightly twisted.

I just finished my first track day in the new FRC. While I expected the stock suspension to be soft and the car to possibly be difficult to control, overall I was pleased. The car stayed planted and behaved well; but I was only driving at 7/10ths most of the day, it being a new car, first day of the season, etc.

Here’s the issue: for the first time ever, I experienced wheel hop as I would aggressively accelerate out of a turn. I found the hop to be more noticeable with tighter turns; I could reduce it by taking a wider line through the corner. Of course, it was also reduced with lower RPM’s.

A quick forum search informs me that this is fairly common on the C5, and that it is usually cured with suspension upgrades including springs, shocks, and sways. More aggressive upgrades include the PFADT transmission / differential mount, a Transmission brace, and possibly even motor mounts.

But before I go down that road, I want to rule a few simple things out. My preseason work included a few things that might be related: