Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Caliper Rebuild & DRM Stainless Brake Piston DIY/Tips

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2018, 11:08 AM
anth115
Racer

Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts

Default Caliper Rebuild & DRM Stainless Brake Piston DIY/Tips

Hey all,

I recently rebuilt my calipers and while this isn't a super thorough DIY, I wanted to share some tips to help others out along the way as I didn't find much info specific to these parts or the car/calipers (2006 Z06) in the hope that it'll help someone else who's considering/doing this. Sorry for the lack of pictures during the process, it's a pretty messy one with brake fluid and lots of gunk involved so it is hard to stop/clean/take pics along the way. Last disclaimer, I'm not a pro by any means, so there may be better ways of doing this but this was how I actually did it. Anyways.

Why I did it
I did an HPDE weekend on pretty new Michelin PS4S tires and didn't have much time to put considerable mileage on them beforehand.
Normally I run with all nannies on as I try to follow the mantra of 'if you're driving smoothly they won't be intervening much anyway', especially since Mosport is a very high speed circuit.
This time, while the tires were newer/greasier, I guess the nannies intervened quite a bit - long story short, by the end of the day my front brake pads were spent and the excess heat melted the dust boots on 2 of the pistons. I figured it was a good time to rebuild and upgrade to the DRM SS pistons as a 'while you're in there' mod. I also replaced my Hawk pads (which weren't too great) with Powerstop Trackday pads as they have great reviews from fellow track rats and are priced very reasonably too.

What you need: