Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How and who to track prep a C6 Z06?

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2018, 05:33 PM
GrantB
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Default How and who to track prep a C6 Z06?

A friend of mine is selling a C6Z with a bunch of nice parts: WC hood, nice wheels, Motons, Brembos, Burns Stainless mufflers, and a twin-disc clutch. It's got ~15k miles.

I'm in the market for a car which can be driven to a track, lapped mercilessly, then driven home (though it would sometimes be trailered, I live near a track). I'm an experienced driver and I like to drive hard, so I know the factory LS7 wouldn't last. I wasn't considering a C6Z because of the reliability issues, but this car is really clean and he's offering me a good deal. It's much cheaper than the other cars I was looking at.

It's my understanding the car would at least need:
  • Aftermarket heads, or at least one-piece valves
  • A larger capacity dry sump tank (it's a 2008)
  • Oil pan baffle
  • Better radiators and oil coolers
  • Higher volume scavenge pump
  • Some rod work or new rods. I know many of the Ti rods are out of round on the big ends.
  • Solid control arm bushings
  • Maybe a lower rev-limiter
  • Anything else?
Are there any shops you guys would recommend to make a C6Z bullet-proof? I have neither the time nor desire to take on this project myself - I'd only do it if a good shop could handle the work and it fits within my overall budget.

Thanks for any help.

Last edited by GrantB; 10-02-2018 at 05:33 PM.
Old 10-02-2018, 09:03 PM
blkbrd69
Drifting

Received 71 Likes on 63 Posts

http://www.xplosiveperformance.com/
The following users liked this post:
GrantB (10-03-2018)
Old 10-02-2018, 09:04 PM
Mordeth
Melting Slicks

Received 1,678 Likes on 878 Posts
2018 C6 of Year Finalist
St. Jude Donor '10, '17