Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Advice for HPDE noob

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2018, 10:12 AM
GoatHead
Pro

Received 111 Likes on 73 Posts
Default Advice for HPDE noob

I have 2017 M7 GS with Comp Seats, iron rotors, and Super Sport tires.

I am new to HPDE, and I did one 2-days event couple of months ago. I am planning on attending 4 or more events next summer at VIR. My Vette is not a dedicated track car, and I don't have the means to liberally spend. So, I'd like to do this in the most economical way. I need some guidance:

I already purchased:
- Helmet
- HANS Hybrid S
- Carbotech XP12 and XP10 (I have a set for the street as well)

My questions:
- Should I invest in 18" track tires and wheels NOW or wait? The Super Sport won't last more than 2 more events and they are expensive to replace. I have 2600 miles, 2-days HPDE event, one autocross event, and it is a weekend car.

- Can I fit the track wheels with mounted tires in the hatch and passenger seat? I will drive to VIR 60 miles each way.

- Because I am 6' tall and my shoulders cover the path through seat holes, harness bar won't work for me. Is there anything else to do for more safety?

Any other suggestions and advises are much appreciated.

Last edited by GoatHead; 11-29-2018 at 10:12 AM.
Old 11-29-2018, 11:43 AM
PeteC7
Pro

Received 214 Likes on 157 Posts

I have a 17/GS/M7 also so I'll share my experience: