C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

troubleshooting C1 fuel gauge

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2005, 08:53 AM
blu61
Intermediate

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default troubleshooting C1 fuel gauge

I put this together from what I worked out with info from several sources and my own trial & error. I hope it might be useful for someone when they search the archive one day.

It took me a while to work out how the C1 fuel gauge works. I’m not an electrician but have a good understanding of basic electric circuits.

Inside the C1 fuel gauge there are actually 2 circuits that fight each other to produce a reading on the gauge. Inside the gauge there are 2 coils at 90 degrees to each other with an armature at the intersecting point of the coil axes. The needle is fixed to the armature. One circuit has full current all the time when the ignition circuit is on and earths through the housing of the gauge. This circuit pulls the needle up to full. The other circuit earths via the brown wire connected to the “S” terminal on the back of the gauge and then through the fuel tank sender. This circuit pulls the needle down to empty. The current in this circuit is determined by the resistance of the sender unit. This should be 0 ohm at empty and about 30 at full, so there is maximum current at empty and minimum at full. They both get their power through the pink wire that connects to the back of the gauge. I believe that the advantage of this balanced type gauge is that the reading does not depend on the voltage in the system. If the voltage drops, both circuits have the same relative drop in current so the needle doesn’t move. I can’t see any other advantage.

To work it out follow this sequence.