C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Original numbers vs Numbers matching?

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2001, 12:37 PM
65-327/350
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Original numbers vs Numbers matching?

Hey Guys!
I'm new to this corvette game. What is the difference between original numbers and numbers matching? Is it possible to have a numbers matching vette without the original motor? Is there a way to identify what kind of motor a '65 vette had by the serial# or trim tag? I do not have the protectoplate.
Old 08-08-2001, 02:41 PM
67's
Le Mans Master

Received 381 Likes on 267 Posts

Default Re: Original numbers vs Numbers matching? (65-327/350)

Original motor means exactually what you think it does, numbers match could also be a C.E. block, which was a warranty service block, or a correct part # not Vin # of the motor, yes you can have what is commonly called matching #'s without having the original motor, the only way you can tell what HP the car is is off the block.

Tom McCabe
Hey Guys!
I'm new to this corvette game. What is the difference between original numbers and numbers matching? Is it possible to have a numbers matching vette without the original motor? Is there a way to identify what kind of motor a '65 vette had by the serial# or trim tag? I do not have the protectoplate.
Old 08-08-2001, 03:03 PM
olredalert
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Welcome to the board and the world of plastic fantastics.Hope you enjoy yourself as much as the rest of us do in this hobby.It can be really rewarding!