C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Planning to purchase a mid-year, need some help...

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2006, 11:41 AM
1BAD-LS1
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Planning to purchase a mid-year, need some help...

Hi all, I am new to the C2 section, however I have been around the forum for a while in the C5 and forced induction sections.

I am starting to search for a mid-year small block, and would like to know what books, information, etc. you all would recommend to understand originallity, numbers matching, option codes, etc. I am reading the forum C2 for sale section and searching old posts, but can use some books and feedback to get me kickstarted.

I am looking to spend in the $40's for a nice small block car. Should I be looking at only coupes, or can you find a nice convertible in this price range? Any help is much appreciated
Old 06-18-2006, 12:02 PM
rahzip
Racer

Received 9 Likes on 1 Post

One book that I found helpful was Corvette by the numbers by Alan Colvin.
What I found truly helpful was a new friend. A gentelman that does not live far from me who has been involved in Corvettes for over 30 years, and has had some very rare and valuable cars. He has been into the mid-years heavily. He was kind enough to spend some time with talking and showing me what to look for and what to avoid. He was even as kind to offer to look at cars with me when he had time. He showed me how to tell if the front fiberglass was orig. where to look for rust. how to spot fake trim tags just to name a few. Sometomes the best knowledge is not found in books, it's in people with years of experence!
Some of those people will share it if asked! Check out your local NCRS and meet some people!
Old 06-18-2006, 12:22 PM
Wiscane
Pro
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts