C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

polishing aluminum guidance

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2006, 01:11 PM
pjarrett
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default polishing aluminum guidance

My sill plates and my windsheild frame need to be polished. I have the window frame all stripped down and it's in very good condition, but not shinny. My sill plates on the other hand are scratched up a bit, but in good shape.

I tried to sand a small section of the aluminum on the sill plate, and polish it out. I've found that my method is not consistent. Does anyone have any good advice or tips on how to polish aluminum with a scratched up surface? Any recomened products or methods are appreciated.

Paul
Parker, CO
Old 09-02-2006, 01:58 PM
Formula Outlaw
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I detailed motorcycles for a living for a few years. Here's what I've found:

For the final buffing out, there are a lot of good products out there, but good ol' "Semi-Chrome" available at any motorcycle shops does as good a job as any.

If they are scratched, start wetsanding it with about 800 grit or maybe 1000, then keep wet sanding until you've worked your way up to 1800 grit or even 2000. Then buff out with Semi-Chrome two, maybe three coats. If the aluminum you're working with is of any quality, it'll shine like a million bucks....
Old 09-02-2006, 05:42 PM
panchop
Melting Slicks

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

My experiance polishing aluminium for my choppers in the past leads me to say. Farm out the job. Polishing aluminium is maybe the filthist nastiest job you will ever do. IMHO.
Old 09-02-2006, 11:36 PM
John McGraw
Safety Car

Received 114 Likes on 74 Posts