C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

crunch time..............panel bonding

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2009, 05:54 PM
mrg
Safety Car

Received 547 Likes on 315 Posts

Default crunch time..............panel bonding

Getting close to bonding replacement body panels. These are the PM Sermersheim panels. The left side top fender, lower parking lamp panel, header bar, left side inner and outer metal headlight bucket supports, and the front upper nose assembly are being replaced.

So far the work has centered on the small stuff - fixing cracks, tears, and some general body work on other areas of the car. I've never done this before so I'm using the Glas-Ra and Eckler's booklets as 'how-to' guides and doing the repairs the way they show in these publications.

As mentioned by John McGraw I'll be using Eckler's bonding adhesive. The left side top fender gets bonded, first. The plan is to use a standard caulking gun to apply the bonding adhesive to the bonding strip and the various flanges that also support and adhere the underside of the top fender. The use of the caulking gun application will hopefully buy a bit of extra time before the bonding adhesive cooks off. I have various clamps, duct tape, etc., for use to hold things in place and 25 pound bags of shot to hold things down, if needed.

I'm considering using one screw, in the front part of the inside drainage channel of the top fender, nearest the hood front. This, to hold down tightly this part of the top fender, as well as for exact placement and critical alignment. I'm a little reluctant to do this, but, in this instance is this ok to do? .. In previous thread posts I've read where screws shouldn't be used. .. Thoughts? ..