C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Daughter wants a 1964 Corvette - Need help

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2009, 03:53 PM
lencap
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Daughter wants a 1964 Corvette - Need help

Hi -

I'm a newbie to the forum. My daughter went to a car show and fell in love with the 1964 Corvette. She is not a collector, and wants the car for weekends. She may consider using it daily, but that's not likely for now. We live in NC, a good climate, but one that is a beast in hot weather, so a/c seems like a necessity.

Other than that, she'd like a manual transmission, but isn't really experienced with them. Prefers a convertible, but is flexible.

My question, finally, how do I go about learning more about this car, and the things to be aware of when looking for a potential car? I've searched the forum, but couldn't find a 'sticky' with a summary of newbie things to look for.

I'm not sure of the budget either - any help is appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Old 10-12-2009, 04:00 PM
ragtopman
Safety Car

St. Jude Donor '10-'11

To learn about these cars, hang out here, read, ask questions and educate yourself. There is a ton of knowledge here.

Where bouts in NC?? There are alot of NC people here that I am sure will chime in soon.

What to spend, turn key, on an average of, oh lets say, 34-36k, sometimes lower, more times higher but you should beable to score a nice driver for that.

And foremost, welcome to the gang.
Old 10-12-2009, 04:04 PM
stingrayl76
Safety Car

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

Welcome to the Forum. Familiarize yourself wth all the tools of the Forum. The is a wealth of information and expertise at your fingertips.

Here is a sticky that is a must read for newbies:
http://forums.corvetteforum.com/c1-a...aq-thread.html
Old 10-12-2009, 04:07 PM
LSUvetteguy
Race Director

Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts
St. Jude Donor '10