C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

c 2 paint stripping

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2010, 11:30 AM
tropicmoon
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default c 2 paint stripping

guys:
i'm going to have my 64 painted and some body repair. i need some opinions on paint stripping. i just read an article that advised not to have a fibreglass body chemically stripped, as it seeps into the fibreglass and is difficult to remove.
any experience with this? media blasting? i want to get it done right.
dick
Old 12-23-2010, 11:34 AM
62Jeff
Tech Contributor
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 47 Likes on 37 Posts

Welcome to the forum!

Although I have no personal experience with it, I'm on vacation killing time today and I read the forum a lot

Search the forum for Captain Lee's, Capn Lee's, or Cap'n Lee's stripper. Many here swear by it as an outstanding chemical stripper with no reported long term side effects on the paint.
Old 12-23-2010, 11:38 AM
BADBIRDCAGE
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,963 Likes on 1,055 Posts

Originally Posted by tropicmoon
guys:
i'm going to have my 64 painted and some body repair. i need some opinions on paint stripping. i just read an article that advised not to have a fibreglass body chemically stripped, as it seeps into the fibreglass and is difficult to remove.
dick

That is absolutely correct. The thousands of us who have stripped our cars to bare glass ourselves using a product like Captain Lee's Spray Strip and have had them painted are still waiting years later for that seepage of the chemical to lift the paint.

Seriously there are painters who insist on hand sanding only because they believe this. OR they may have had a bad experience with some type of chemical stripper in the past.