C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Fiberglass repairs

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2011, 04:06 PM
zeke5551
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fiberglass repairs

I was just looking for good sources of fiberglass repair supplies; resins, cloth, gelcoat and bonding adhesives. Will be starting on some major repairs on a damaged 61. I have mostly original body panels for the repairs, except a few small pieces. Is there a manufacturer/supplier that you guys recomend for body panels? Also, has anyone heard of any books specifically geared for fiberglass repair on cars (or specificaly Corvettes). I'm a aircraft mechanic and have experience/training making aircraft composite repairs, but the proccesses and materials are way more advanced than automotive. Plus, the supply sources are very expensive (over kill). I haven't found a local body shop that seems to have enough experience with fiberglass repairs, so I wil do them myself before passing the body on for finish work and paint. Can anyone recomend a stripper that will remove old paint and not soften the resin? I've gotten lots of opinions locally, so I thought I'd ask the guys who are really working on their Vettes. I only want to do this once. I know I asked about a dozen questions, but I really appreciate any input.
Thanks, Zeke
Old 08-17-2011, 04:40 PM
Mike Geary
Melting Slicks

Received 220 Likes on 167 Posts

Default Meledo Enterprises, Tucson

Zeke:

There's a one-man shop here in Tucson who specializes in fiberglass supplies. You walk in, look around, and you know you're in the right place. He's got mat in all weights and widths. Same with cloth. He's got fresh, primo polyester resin. He's got pigments so you can create cream or charcoal colored layups. Gelcoat & PVA? No problem. Chopped strands and milled fibers too for repair mixes.