C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Starting on a 66 basket case

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2012, 12:03 AM
bobwoodkat
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Starting on a 66 basket case

I am starting on a 1966 basket case I bought many years ago and I have never done anything like this before so I am planning on posting my progress on youtube. I will be needing a lot of advice form the guys who have taken on this challenge. I hope some of you guys could check out what I am up against and send HELP my way. LOL Here is my first video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K3dD5cAYhbE&feature=plcp
Old 07-25-2012, 07:39 AM
knockbill
Burning Brakes

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

[QUOTE=bobwoodkat;1581398913]I am starting on a 1966 basket case I bought many years ago and I have never done anything like this before so I am planning on posting my progress on youtube. I will be needing a lot of advice form the guys who have taken on this challenge. I hope some of you guys could check out what I am up against and send HELP my way. LOL Here is my first vide

my 56 sat that long after i took what was left of teh body off to rebuild teh frame,,, then life got in teh way for quite a while,,, i also cut teh front end off, and replaced it...
first thing i would do, in your case, is make sure you have enough room in teh garage to take teh body off, and have room to work on teh frame... i'd get the frame done, then, strip the body, and the underside, if it has undercoat on it, so you can see what needs work,,,
make the repairs to the body that you can, while its on teh dolly, and put it on teh frame to fit teh front end...

bag/tag all teh parts as you remove them, and list what needs to be repaired and replaced,,, carlisle is coming up in a month or so, and you can probably knock off a lot needs list, as money allows,,,

best of luck with your project...
Old 07-25-2012, 01:52 PM