C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Installed a 7" single brake booster this weekend

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2013, 10:43 PM
mikey
Melting Slicks

Received 135 Likes on 64 Posts

Default Installed a 7" single brake booster this weekend

Well I finally got around to converting my car to power brakes with a 7" single diaphragm vacuum booster. I got a master/booster combo from Summit and I got the brackets from Long Island Corvette. I also needed an extension for the push rod, but not as long of one as they sent me! Cut it down with a dremel cut-off wheel and now it is perfect length.

I'd love to report how well it works, but my engine is apart, so... I'll post back in a couple of weeks. I did get the system flushed and air bled out, it seems to be leak free and the pedal gets nice and hard without vacuum.

I had previously been using an electric brake booster and accumulator setup, but decided to switch to something more "period" looking.

Old 01-21-2013, 06:43 AM
wmf62
Race Director

Received 727 Likes on 621 Posts
St. Jude Donor '07

do you have a pic of the electric booster and how it was mounted?
Bill
Old 01-21-2013, 06:29 PM
Avispa
Safety Car

Received 885 Likes on 634 Posts

Will that setup work with a single circuit 65/66 master cylinder? I think I see a BBC in your picture, so I'm assuming there are no clearance issues with the motor.
Old 01-21-2013, 06:41 PM
Mr D.
Team Owner

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,486 Likes on 1,003 Posts

What are those silver and red things setting on your cowl?
Old 01-21-2013, 07:00 PM
Sky65
Le Mans Master

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 612 Likes on 367 Posts
St. Jude Donor '05, '09, '15

Hey Mike
Very interested in how well it works. I have been considering a booster but thought I needed a dual diaphragm to get enough boost. Let's get that thing back together for a test!

Tom
Old 01-21-2013, 08:46 PM
mikey
Melting Slicks