C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Straight Axle 1959, Rebound Straps

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2014, 02:01 PM
Hulou
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Straight Axle 1959, Rebound Straps

Hello,

Pardon my question, But I'm very new to the Straight Axel world.
What in the world are the rebound straps I have on my 59 for??? What do they really do or were designed to do??

I think mine are a somewhat strecthed? While the car is in the garage My strapes hange down below the axle about 1-2 inches?

What up could someone, help me out? Do they really work? and are my straps too long/streached?

Thanks much
HS
Virginia
Old 11-04-2014, 03:15 PM
Frankie the Fink
Team Owner

Received 7,082 Likes on 4,736 Posts
Army

Sounds like:

a) Your lucky to still have them - many have rotted away or been removed, and,
b) Sounds like yours are perfectly normal and hanging correctly.

Here's my original '61...
Attached Images  

Last edited by Frankie the Fink; 11-04-2014 at 03:17 PM.
Old 11-04-2014, 03:49 PM
JohnZ
Team Owner

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,857 Likes on 1,100 Posts

Here's my '57.
Attached Images  
Old 11-04-2014, 03:49 PM
DZAUTO
Race Director

Received 3,772 Likes on 1,674 Posts
2023 C1 of the Year Finalist - Modified
2015 C1 of the Year Finalist

Old 11-04-2014, 07:17 PM
ohiovet
Melting Slicks

Received 167 Likes on 130 Posts
2016 C1 of Year Finalist

John,
Nice Traction Masters, I have a set for my 57 Gasser.

Originally Posted by JohnZ
Here's my '57.
Old 11-04-2014, 08:47 PM
Hulou
Instructor

Default Thanks

Originally Posted by Frankie the Fink
Sounds like:

Thank You for your Picture. That's exactly how mine look! So I guess mine are OK??

Hugh
Virginia
Old 11-04-2014, 08:51 PM
Hulou
Instructor

Default HI FRankie

Sounds like:

Hi Frnkie,