C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Brake fluid leak?

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2016, 12:11 AM
Joemac8
Drifting

Received 2,264 Likes on 437 Posts

Default Brake fluid leak?

I plan on changing the brake fluid, rubber hoses and front and rear brake lines on my 67 coupe. I will then change the pads. The car sat idle the past four years. After fresh gas and battery the car starts but the brakes are very poor.

I have never done this type of work before so I have some very basic questions.

When I remove the rubber brake lines, won't the existing brake fluid leak all over? How can I prevent this?

Since I plan on flushing the system with alcohol and replacing the brake fluid, would I be better off draining the old fluid, then change the hoses and wheel brake line, then flush and finally put in the new fluid?

Lots of basic questions.
Old 09-29-2016, 12:54 AM
66jack
Team Owner

Received 830 Likes on 574 Posts

Beings your going to replace the fluid, go ahead and drain, flush with the alcohol like mentioned...then replace the rubber lines...check the pistons on the calipers before you put in new fluid...after setting for four years i imagine they would need to be rebuilt...or purchase some 'new rebuilt' ones from "napa', o'reilly's, or one of the corvette vendors...if the calipers are originals...keep them and pay the core charge...rhat is if you want...

ALSO...check the rubber fuel lines for cracking, the one going to fuel pump and the one from fuel tank to steel line...
Old 09-29-2016, 07:06 AM
rfn026
Safety Car

Received 272 Likes on 214 Posts

You should flush the system with denatured alcohol first. The best, and easiest, place to buy denatured alcohol is on Amazon.com.