C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

OT - hub centric rings

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2016, 04:24 PM
wmf62
Race Director

Received 727 Likes on 621 Posts
St. Jude Donor '07

Originally Posted by jim lockwood
Not limited to C1 drums. Every drum and disc brake rotor I've ever seen has been hub-centric.

Bill
Old 10-22-2016, 04:33 PM
wmf62
Race Director

St. Jude Donor '07

Originally Posted by BD104X
I'm no engineer but in my head I like the idea of the hub shouldering the load instead of just the lugs. If you can find a set of rings that match the measurements you need, I'd use them.
FWIW, the 'load' is not carried entirely by the studs but is shared by the frictional resistance of the proper torque value tighten/clamping of the rim to the drum/rotor surface and the 'shear' of the stud.

Bill
Old 10-22-2016, 04:37 PM
TCracingCA
Team Owner

Received 1,683 Likes on 1,005 Posts

Mentioned above was the lug style and that type of seating does away with the need for this! Also if you have the spongy tall side wall tires it really doesn't matter! If you have gone to a low profile radial tire then you don't want rotational inconsistencies, which would result in a bounce skip vibration or oscillation! Some of the quality rims did center on the bearing area and or the mag lugs were more precision fitting!

Last edited by TCracingCA; 10-22-2016 at 04:39 PM.
Old 10-22-2016, 07:16 PM
jim lockwood
Race Director

Received 6,524 Likes on 3,002 Posts
C2 of Year Finalist (track prepared) 2019

Originally Posted by wmf62
FWIW, the 'load' is not carried entirely by the studs but is shared by the frictional resistance of the proper torque value tighten/clamping of the rim to the drum/rotor surface and the 'shear' of the stud.

Bill