C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

frame issues on 66

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2017, 06:15 PM
jkredwing
Advanced

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default frame issues on 66

Hi guys, I'm a newbie here and want to thank you for all the good info I've gathered while following this great forum. Back in around '91 I picked up a '66 basket case in the Four Corners region. It had been sitting covered up for many years until a guy bought and started to restore it, but then became ill and was forced to sell it. It's a #s matching L79, M21 posi 3:70 coupe and almost everything is there. It has been hit in the left rear behind the wheel but was repaired with what looks like a factory panel. The frame rail on the left of tank is bent in and up slightly just behind the diff cross member. The rest of frame is solid with only minor surface rust probably caused by ground moisture. The only serious problem is that the diff is slightly off plane as the rest of the car, and the rear cross member is even more off plane. My plan was to get it running and looking good so I could drive it before they take my licence away but now I think I might have to lift the body. Any suggestions?
Attached Images     
Old 05-27-2017, 07:11 PM
dkleather
Melting Slicks

Received 334 Likes on 261 Posts
2016 C2 of the Year Finalist

I think you will have to lift the body to see exactly what needs done and to make it possible to determine what needs to be done to straighten the frame. With the problems you describe, I see no other way if you want to do it right.
Old 05-28-2017, 07:15 AM
DansYellow66
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2,620 Likes on 1,952 Posts