C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

[C1] What Voltage to Ballast Resistor?

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2017, 06:11 AM
Frankie the Fink
Team Owner

Received 7,082 Likes on 4,736 Posts
Army

Kill me, kill me now...
The following users liked this post:
new vette 62 (12-05-2017)
Old 12-05-2017, 08:08 AM
GearheadJoe
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 616 Likes on 410 Posts

Originally Posted by 62 corvette nut
GearheadJoe,
Thanks for the information, I'm a mechanical / Industrial Engineer and the only thing I remember from school is if you have an electrical problem, get yourself an electrical technician. I had picked up the car from a fabricator and was test driving it when it started to rain. turned on wipers, engine quit.

Turns out the engine had been out of the car twice and on second install, the wiper was attached to the wrong side of Ballast resistor. Speaking as a non-electrical I think its a dumb place to power the wipers.

Thanks to everyone for the education.

Marty

Hi Marty:

I'm happy to hear that the problem has been resolved.
Old 12-05-2017, 08:40 AM
65GGvert
Team Owner

Received 3,220 Likes on 2,302 Posts

Originally Posted by 62 corvette nut
GearheadJoe,
Thanks for the information, I'm a mechanical / Industrial Engineer and the only thing I remember from school is if you have an electrical problem, get yourself an electrical technician. I had picked up the car from a fabricator and was test driving it when it started to rain. turned on wipers, engine quit.

Turns out the engine had been out of the car twice and on second install, the wiper was attached to the wrong side of Ballast resistor. Speaking as a non-electrical I think its a dumb place to power the wipers.

Thanks to everyone for the education.

Marty