C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Cost of decent paint job

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2018, 09:50 PM
Lotsacubes
Melting Slicks

Received 903 Likes on 594 Posts

Originally Posted by JohnZ
Not any more, you can't. I'm a pilot, and I've been down that road before too, and there's no escaping the REAL costs of a proper paint job (unless the painter is your brother, and is already independently wealthy)
Ok.. OT, but you an MU2 driver John?
Old 06-05-2018, 09:55 PM
65silververt
Safety Car

Received 331 Likes on 203 Posts

Scuff and respray with gaps adjusted and underlying issues addressed=$7,000-$9,000 at best

Stripping the entire car,full gaps adjusted, show quality paint=$15,000-$25,000.

That is just my experience. Scuff and respray if possible!!!
Old 06-05-2018, 09:58 PM
SDVette
Safety Car

Received 1,295 Likes on 560 Posts
2023 C1 of the Year Finalist - Unmodified
2022 C1 of the Year Finalist - Unmodified
2021 C1 of the Year Finalist - Unmodified
2019 C1 of Year Finalist (stock)
2016 C1 of Year Finalist

I met a painter by chance. He was repairing accident damage on my wife's Audi A6 (under insurance claim). We got to talking about cars, and eventually old Corvettes. He told me that he does the prep/paint for one of the local SoCal "Vette Restoration Gurus", and had the photos to prove it.

He said the Vette guru marks up his his price 2X.. So a $8K paint job from him becomes a $16K item on your restoration bill. So I would say this is how you get to the $20K paint job!

I got a quote from him to do my '61 for $6K (this was 3 years ago). But I decided to stay with the original lacquer, patina look. I know myself well enough.. I would figure out reasons to NOT drive the car after a $6K paint job... let alone $20K!
Old 06-05-2018, 10:02 PM
JohnZ
Team Owner

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,857 Likes on 1,100 Posts

Originally Posted by Lotsacubes