C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

[C2] Maaco paint job

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2018, 11:58 AM
GTOguy
Race Director

Received 3,443 Likes on 2,113 Posts

As a life-long mechanic, I can appreciate the reluctance of professional painters to paint over someone else's prep job. Nobody sees a mechanic's work unless they look under the car or under the hood or tear an engine or transmission down. Nobody can tell if it's good or shoddy work. But the outside of a car is the first and only thing most people see. And a classic car gets looked at hard. So never mind the signed clauses, etc. If a pro like Mike or DUB painted over a wavy body, and the car made the rounds, people would ask who did the paint? And even if it's your own fault for doing crappy prep work UNDER the paint (which now shows like a neon sign) you can say: "Oh....DUB painted it". I can totally understand why a pro would run away from any pre-prepped car that he didn't prep himself. Or see prepped. You never know what's under that primer!
The following users liked this post:
DUB (06-10-2018)
Old 06-10-2018, 12:19 PM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts

Yes..I guess I am a glutton for punishment by trying to help people out at times. Heck it happens here on the forum from time to t me and I am not spraying any paint.

But I have come to realize that they MUST at least get it to the point that I can stomach putting paint on it....if it is on a car that is not going around track getting immediately banged up. Because lets face it....a race car can have a sticker slapped on it to hide a problem.

DUB
Old 06-10-2018, 12:24 PM
Frankie the Fink
Team Owner

Received 7,082 Likes on 4,736 Posts
Army

Post deleted

Last edited by Frankie the Fink; 06-10-2018 at 12:50 PM.
Old 06-10-2018, 12:40 PM
car junkie
Drifting

Received 98 Likes on 80 Posts

Originally Posted by Frankie the Fink
"[I]