C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Car Shows

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2018, 09:23 PM
Tonio
Drifting

Received 281 Likes on 226 Posts

Sounds like a silly phrase. Then again, car shows around here are pretty silly. Park for hours, open your hood so everyone can see your engine. I don't get it.
Old 07-23-2018, 09:33 PM
Chummy85623
Instructor

Received 26 Likes on 18 Posts

Originally Posted by fyreline
"Reserve Best of Show" is judge-speak for "Buy your own damn trophy".

I've been showing my 1962 for about five years, and have a shelf full of trophies. The one that means the most to me is a crude little piece of tree branch hand-carved by one of our service veterans and awarded at a show our local Corvette Club puts on annually at an outreach & rehab facility to benefit the vets. It means more to me than a lot of the fancier trophies, and more than makes up for any awards I didn't get. Let's do this for the right reasons, folks. It ain't about the hardware - it's about the smiles on faces, the friends we make, the memories we invoke, and the sheer joy of sharing the cars we love with like-minded crazy people.