C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Arkansas stole my vin

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2018, 01:47 PM
rrhoppy
5th Gear

Received 14 Likes on 1 Post
Default Arkansas stole my vin

This is my first attempt at posting anything - so I may make a procedural error.

I am just finishing the resurrection of a 1965 Corvette that has been "parked/stored" since 1970
I am the second owner and have "stored" the car for the last 16 years.
Recently (7-18-2018) I attempted to get license plates so I could do some test drives.
The Ohio BMV told me my title issued in 2000 was no longer valid.
The reason was because on 3/20/2017, Arkansas (AMVC) issued a title with my VIN number.
After about 5 calls, I found out that Arkansas had issued a title with my VIN using only a
BILL OF SALE and a "fist full" of parts receipts as proof.
AND, I was told by Ohio BMV in Columbus, OH that nothing could be done until Arkansas released their title.

I then made dozens of phone calls to Arkansas AMVC , Arkansas State Police, Ohio BMV,
and the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS), a department under the U.S. DOJ.

Trying to prove my ownership to Arkansas AMVC - I sent pictures of:
original 1965 Ohio title
my 2000 Ohio title
the trim and VIN tags under the glove box
the PROTECT-O-PLATE containing the VIN
the original order forms
and even pictures of the dirty car during 48 years in storage.

Eventually, their response was that they would contact "the other guy" and ASK him bring in more proof of his ownership.
They WOULD NOT send anybody to actually look at his VIN tag on the car or verify the number in any way. They had all the proof they needed as to the accuracy of the VIN because they had a copy of the BILL OF SALE.

At one point, I was able to actually talk to someone from the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS).