C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Need a/c help with my 1966 427

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2019, 10:03 AM
Dutch LONG
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need a/c help with my 1966 427

My a/c cools at 56 vent degrees, last year it cooled at 43 degrees. If I turn the stv valve adjusting spring clockwise 1/2 turn, the vent temperature goes back down to 43 degrees. The next time I drive the a/c goes back up to 56 degrees. This sequence of temperature change happens over and over. I need some a/c advice. Thanks, Dutch
Old 07-11-2019, 07:25 AM
Vitaminmopar
Burning Brakes

Received 334 Likes on 199 Posts

Dutch I am a novice at air conditioning, from what you describe you will most likely need to put a set of A/C gauges on to know the pressures so the experts can help you. It would be a help also to know the approximate area you live so consider adding that info to your profile, as elevation and ambient temps might come into play. You stated you turned the STV adjustment so I'm thinking you have a stock A/C system and not one equipped with an STV elimination kit. I'm speculating that the evaporator maybe freezing up. Have you noticed if the A/C starts out cooling OK and then warm up? This will be the extent of my so called help. Hope you have a solution to the problem soon.
Old 07-11-2019, 08:44 AM
Tampa Jerry
Le Mans Master

Received 1,328 Likes on 960 Posts

Reach out to Larry aka Powershift. He is the go to guy on AC systems. Jerry
Old 07-11-2019, 05:00 PM
Dutch LONG
Heel & Toe

how do I locate aka powershift, I need some good a/c advice
Old 07-11-2019, 05:42 PM
midyear
Drifting

Received 235 Likes on 141 Posts
2021 C2 of the Year Finalist - Modified

Originally Posted by Vitaminmopar