Sponsored by:

Need help with how to buy the right C3 Vette

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2009, 11:13 PM
av8ferg
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help with how to buy the right C3 Vette

Well I'll admit I'm new at the Corvette scene but I've always wanted a 1969-1972 and now I finally have the money saved to buy one. My dream car is a matching 1970 350/4sp orange or blue coup.

1) Prices online are so varried it's hard to tell what a vehicle is really worth.

2) Are 4 speeds more desireable than automatics.

3) What are the things I need to look out for becasue I don't want to get ripped off becasue I was poorly informed.

I'm looking to fly and test drive a 1970 Blue Coup 350/4sp. The guy wants 22k. I've seen similar vehicles online for 18K. Where is the price point of a matching vehicle like this worth with a nice interior and nice paint.

1970 CORVETTE COUPE T-TOP. MULSANNE BLUE/ BLK VINYL INTERIOR. 350/350,4 SP, A.C, P.S., P.W., T/T WHEEL, AM-FM RADIO, RALLY WHEELS, S/S BRAKES. LESS THAN 1000 MILES SINCE ENGINE REBUILD. PAINT 3 YRS OLD. VERY CORRECT CAR
Old 08-03-2009, 01:06 AM
bailey228545
Advanced

You are going to get a lot of repsonses on this but one thing I would suggest is getting it up on a lift and take a very close look at the underside. The birdcage is going to be one area you definitely want to look at. You can look at it without the car being on a lift though. I would say that the 4 spd is more desireable. I have a '81 with a automatic and I love my car but the next one to join it in the garage will definitely be a 4 spd. Make sure the person you are buying from has all supporting documentation on repairs and such things as that so that you can verify everything he is saying has been done to the car. Good luck with whatever you find out there. I will be looking for one in the '70-'72 era in the next couple of years or so. Beautiful cars.
Old 08-03-2009, 10:43 AM
Easy Mike
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!