Sponsored by:

Clanking Noise in Rear

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2012, 09:50 PM
stmay
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clanking Noise in Rear

I hear a clanking sound when I pull out and make a right turn. If I go very slow no noise, but under normal acceleration I hear a series of clanks. Doesn't happen going straight, making a left hand turn, or at speed....just from a stop.

It is a 71 350 4-speed. I'm thinking a bad U-joint but there is no vibration or signs of a broken one.

I'm new to the SC area and don't have a trusted mechanic yet, so I am hoping to get some idea of what it could be so I don't end up doing a lot of uncalled for repairs.

Thanks.
Old 12-30-2012, 09:59 PM
gdh
Le Mans Master

Received 86 Likes on 69 Posts

That's what mine sounded like as is started to go. Had a new one installed and it broke within 6 months no warning or noises, replaced free on warranty by my mechanic.
Old 12-30-2012, 10:33 PM
stmay
Cruising

Was it the half shaft u joints or the driveshafts? Thx.
Old 12-30-2012, 10:46 PM
Rally68
Burning Brakes

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Sounds are tough to diagnose on the Internet! What noise is it similar to?

I would think a bad u-joint would make noise all the time; anytime I hear "slow speed turn" I'm thinking differential, either posi clutches (usually not bad) or spider gears (expensive unless you can do it yourself). When you or your mechanic inspects the u-joints, get the rear tires off the ground and spin the wheels, listening for any noise from the diff gears. Pull the diff drain plug and make sure there is fluid up to or near the level of the hole. If the diff looks like the plug hasn't been removed in years, or if the fluid level is low, I would encourage you to pump out the old fluid and put in fresh gear oil and posi additive. If your u-joints pass inspection and new gear oil doesn't help, it's probably time to drop the diff and open it up...
Old 12-30-2012, 11:16 PM
gdh
Le Mans Master