What is the best way to mount an LS motor on an engine stand

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2013, 11:09 AM
CWerner
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 15 Likes on 9 Posts

Default What is the best way to mount an LS motor on an engine stand

I'm getting ready to mount my motor on my new engine stand. The engine stand is a collapsible, 360' rotating engine stand from Summit. This is new territory for me. I've never done this before.

Are there any specific tricks or best practices that you have to suggest?

Last edited by CWerner; 01-26-2013 at 02:08 PM.
Old 01-26-2013, 03:04 PM
68/70Vette
Team Owner

Received 546 Likes on 374 Posts

Do you have an engine hoist to lift the engine up to the level of the engine mounting "fingers" of the engine stand?

If you don't have an engine hoist, buy one from Harbor Freight. They are about $170 last time I looked. You can rent an engine hoist for about $35 a day, but it's a whole lot less hassle and more convenient to buy it. What appears to be the same engine hoist is available from Snap On for $1070. (last time I looked.) Hate to buy Chinese but this kind of a price differential is just too hard to pass up.