Engine Detail Advice/Instruction

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2013, 07:03 PM
amramir
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Engine Detail Advice/Instruction

Hi C3 Friends,

I want to clean and detail out my 1968 427 engine and compartment. I have never done this before and don't know what to protect and what can get wet etc. Does anyone have some instructions or advice for me.

I just don't want to end up like this...

Thanks for any help you can give me!
Old 05-05-2013, 11:22 PM
Faster Rat
Melting Slicks

Received 204 Likes on 145 Posts

If the car is the real deal...as in original engine, documented, etc...then you should think carefully about where you want to take it from it's present condition. Original 427 cars have the potential to increase in value more than other C3s, provided they are unrestored or correctly restored. It is your car and your money and you are certainly free to do whatever you want...but don't start rattle can painting anything until you have somebody knowledgeable take a look at it. Join the NCRS and find a local chapter person to help you.

If all you are going to do is clean...the best cleaner to use is Spray Nine...easy on the car and your skin. Protect the carb barrel and the distributor cap. Rinse well. Prepare to see the rust appear.

Last edited by Faster Rat; 05-05-2013 at 11:25 PM.
Old 05-06-2013, 02:18 AM
7T1vette
Team Owner

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,271 Posts

Think through these alternatives and pick the approach that seems right for you: