C3 General General C3 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Brake caliper leak. I found the leak, now what? Newbie needs help.

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2013, 01:16 AM
SonOfGaladriel
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Brake caliper leak. I found the leak, now what? Newbie needs help.

Hello All.
Please understand that I am new to classic cars, have no prior mechanic skills, and I must refer to my shop manual for anything I plan to do with this car. However, I am very eager and willing to try repairs/restoration on my own, when appropriate. I'm trying to learn the skills with a wrench!
Just as I was feeling extremely satisfied with myself today, after having completed the process of dyeing and replacing my old door panels and trim and fixing a poorly tracking window, ...BAM!!!....no brakes on the way home from a trip to the hardware store!
Brake pedal all the way to the floor just to get it to slow down. Limped home a few miles. Pretty scary.
Got it in the garage, crawled under, and found a huge dripping leak coming from the driver's side front wheel. No leaks at the other wheels or master cylinder. Got on the search function here and read that it was likely the caliper.
Took off the tire, took off the caliper, and found this:the gasket, o ring, seal, whatever, was popped out. Still very flexible and intact. This is where the leak was coming from, upper inside piston. Turned the car on, pumped the brake, and saw the fluid coming from this spot.

I pushed the 'seal', gasket, o ring, whatever its called, back into place so it looked like the other 3:

Turned the car on and pumped the brakes. Leak appears to have stopped but brake pedal still goes all the way to the floor and slowly comes back up, but it does have a bit more resistance than before.
I have not put the caliper back on. I understand that I need to wipe everything clean with brake fluid remover first?