Base '71 350 to LT-1?

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2015, 01:53 AM
nwav8tor
Old Fart Pilot
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 342 Likes on 205 Posts

Default Base '71 350 to LT-1?

Can you tell that I'm a novice? What would it take to have my base '71 350 270hp converted to a LT-1 300-330hp motor? I assume it'd at least need different heads and maybe intake & carb (Holley?). Would different cam and pistons be required also?

thanks,
Paul
Old 06-03-2015, 07:14 AM
530planeman
Drifting

Received 145 Likes on 129 Posts

Originally Posted by nwav8tor
Can you tell that I'm a novice? What would it take to have my base '71 350 270hp converted to a LT-1 300-330hp motor? I assume it'd at least need different heads and maybe intake & carb (Holley?). Would different cam and pistons be required also?

thanks,
Paul
Paul
LT 1 uses an high rise intake so would need big block hood or LT 1 hood ,also TI dist and module, pistons ,cam, holly carb .4 bolt 010 block .Might be cheaper to just buy an LT 1 $4 to 5 k
There is one in Dubuke Ill. for $2500 on Craigs list under Chicago.
Hope this helps
Wes
Old 06-03-2015, 07:36 AM
Easy Mike
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,468 Likes on 1,247 Posts
Cruise-In II Veteran

The LT-1 is well documented. The How To Hot Rod Your Smallblock Chevrolet books are likely to have a list of LT-1 stock parts. Purchase the parts; assemble the engine.

Old 06-03-2015, 07:42 AM
Tom73
Race Director

Received 470 Likes on 279 Posts

thanks,
Paul
Paul, what are you wanting to do? Do you want an LT-1 clone or are you just looking for more HP? For a clone you will need a lot of very specific parts. For more HP there are lots of options.

Tom...
Old 06-03-2015, 07:43 AM
GaToy
Instructor

Received 26 Likes on 13 Posts

I want to get rid of the LT1 out of my '95 impala to make room for an LS3. A lot of the Impalas and caprices ditch the LT1's in favor of LS motors.
Old 06-03-2015, 07:52 AM
Tom73
Race Director

Received 470 Likes on 279 Posts