Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HELP 1979 4L60E Trans Swap

Old 06-14-2016, 12:43 PM
NewbVetteGuy
Melting Slicks

Received 332 Likes on 281 Posts
Default HELP 1979 4L60E Trans Swap

I'm hoping that some folks on here can do a sanity check on my plans to do a 4L60E transmission swap in my bone stock (except for exhaust and gas shocks) 1979 L82 auto.

As my forum name says, I'm a newbie to cars in general, Corvettes and the forum(although I grew up around a huge GM/Corvette gear head and some of it may have accidentally rubbed off). I've been trying to learn as much as I can over the past 45 days so don't assume that I know or understand anything, please.

I'm looking for help on the parts list, my general plan and details on the steps involved although I'm enlisting professional help for most of the work.

I understand that the 4L60E is the same physical size as a 7004r/700r4 so it'll require a little denting of the tunnel with a mallet around the passenger side to get it to fit properly.

Parts List
  • Rebuilt and "Hardened" 4L60E 98-05 version (stage 2 TransDepot)
  • Appropriate Torque converter (I have no idea what stall speed to use ATM and don't understand the difference between a neutral balance and counter balance torque converter or which one I should get) -I've got true duals, no cat exhaust, low restriction mufflers and McJack shorties are going on it soon as are AFR heads and probably a mild EFI-appropriate cam)
  • 700r4 Cross Member from BowTie (Assumption: 700r4 cross members are identical to 4L60E cross members as the trans are physically identical. (I'm assuming that this is why BowTie doesn't actually list 4L60e-specific cross members.
  • Cut and balanced drive shaft to accommodate longer transmission or an aftermarket aluminum drive shaft (anyone know a reasonably priced source of driveshafts that would work for this conversion?