Sponsored by:

Need Some Help Re: steering and brake/clutch assembly on a '69

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2016, 09:15 AM
ronj024
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Need Some Help Re: steering and brake/clutch assembly on a '69

I'm new to the c3 world and test drove my first yesterday, a red '69 coupe. Nice car, body, paint and interior all appear to be in great shape. It is a manual steering car and I would want to convert that to power steering and, possibly, rack and pinion. One thing that disturbed me was the proximity of the gas and brake pedals. I literally could not put my foot on the gas without hitting the brake pedal unless I turned my foot sideways (I was wearing athletic shoes). I can't imagine that is how these cars came from the factory. The guy said that it had a Borg-Warner transmission and, since these cars came with Muncies, I'm wondering if this car was originally and automatic and when it was converted to a 4-speed, the brake/clutch pedal assembly was installed too close to the gas pedal. To any of you experts out there, does that sound like a possibility and, if so, would that be difficult to correct? Also, to anyone who has installed power steering and/or a rack & pinion set-up, is that too difficult for a weekend mechanic?
Old 07-06-2016, 10:35 AM
Alan 71
Team Owner

Received 2,878 Likes on 2,515 Posts

Hi r,
Here's the typical clutch/brake/accelerator configuration and spacing for a 4-speed car.
How does it compare to what you saw?
Regards,
Alan

Last edited by Alan 71; 07-06-2016 at 10:36 AM.
Old 07-06-2016, 02:18 PM
ronj024
Intermediate

Originally Posted by Alan 71
Hi r,
Here's the typical clutch/brake/accelerator configuration and spacing for a 4-speed car.
How does it compare to what you saw?
Regards,
Alan

Hard for me to compare the two by looking. I just couldn't believe that the spacing was such that I couldn't even put my foot flat on the accelerator without hitting the brake.
Old 07-06-2016, 02:49 PM
Andy Tuttle