C3 General General C3 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How to prioritize upgrades (for a total noob)

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2017, 01:59 PM
Derkluge
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to prioritize upgrades (for a total noob)

Somehow, I’ve managed to catch the bug and I’m looking to purchase a C3 (maybe a ’78 or ’79 L-82) in the next year or so and turn it into a daily driver.

Full disclosure: I’m a complete noob and probably don’t grasp what I’m getting into. I’d be interested in any views on what I should be thinking about to create the ideal car for me. (Purists, please look away – I’m not particularly compelled to drive a stock car or even preserve its resale value.)

First, my situation:
- Not an experienced mechanic, but would be fun to learn; unfortunately, I have a demanding job and free time is typically devoted to my family (wife and 2 young children); buying a minivan this spring – ugh; always loved C3 corvettes when I was a kid, turning 40 this year - may as well get a 40-year old midlife-crisis car now; wife needs to be able to drive the C3 occasionally (if I’m out with the kids), and, as such, need an automatic.
- Car would primarily be used for 2-mile commute and running errands around town (which inevitably requires a fair amount of 75+ MPH highway driving). Live in Southern CA (where it can get warm).
- Here are my priorities (and I’m designating code letters for purposes you’ll see below). Car needs to be (in order of importance):
(1) as safe as possible for a 40 year old sports car (“S”);
(2) reasonably drivable and comfortable (“D/C”);
(3) reasonably reliable for a 40 year old car (“R”);
(4) looks good (“L”); and
(5) reasonably fun to drive (“F”).